LABOR DAY WEEKEND

I spent Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning of Labor Day Weekend at Orenaug Park. I’ve written about this place before, actually the exact climb we did here. While Michael and Maggie climbed I repelled from a tree at the top to take some pictures. Swaying on my rope, this was my view when I looked down:

I shot pretty wide–usually between 18mm and 35mm. For this type of portraiture that is just as focused on the surroundings as it is on the subject, I like to shoot wide and get in close. Getting in close is what posed a problem here. Once a climber got within five feet or so of me, and my composition was optimal, I had only a few moments to shoot before he/she was next to me or above me.

Two more things I’ll mention about the photos. First: the motion blur. I can’t say I went into this with the intentions of creating motion blur. These shots were taken around 5 in the evening, with an overcast sky and shade from the rocks and trees. I pushed my ISO to 400, and sometimes to 800 but 1600 is strictly reserved for emergencies. My pictures get noisy enough at high ISO’s that I’d rather get some blur.

Anyways, I kinda like the blur. In most of the shots its just in the extremities so most of the details are retained, while accentuating the speed of each movement. And that’s where the second thing I want to mention comes in. Black and white. I converted these to monochrome mostly because it accentuates the motion and primary subject, and also because there is not much good color to use. If I had shot against the tops of fall-strucken trees, with vibrant red and yellow leaves, I surely would have kept the color. Here all I had was skin tones and slate.

Camping photos: Made w/1 off-camera flash to camera left gelled red.

Our dinner was Italian bread + “Goober” sandwiches. Goober is a mix of peanut butter and jelly in one jar that seems to be more sugar than anything else.

Some very brief, poor attempts at light painting.

Lit by the fire… dragged shutter at to ten seconds and fired the flash two or three times.

Goodmorning!

Leave a Reply

