TIME

A month and a half ago I read Jules Tompkins’ blog post, It’s March 15?, and I became curious about the spending of my own time. This week, from Sunday, April 25th at 12:00am to Sunday, May 2nd at 12:00am, I recorded the time I spent with my daily activities. The results should be considered as rough approximations…

Sleep: 46.5 hours

School (includes getting ready & traveling to and from): 36 hours

Social Media (includes facebook, twitter, & AIM): 17.5 hours

Work: 15 hours

Homework: 9.5 hours

Family/Friend Time: 8.5 hours

Driving Somewhere: 6.5 hours

Eating: 5.25 hours

Looking at Artwork: 4 hours

Post Production (includes iPhoto & Photoshop):  3.25 hours

Business Planning: 3 hours

Reading: 3 hours

Photographing: 1.5 hours

Blogging: 1.5 hours

Yoga: .5 hours

Random Non-recorded Unproductive Stuff: 6.5 hours

Like Jules, I’m not very happy with this. IMO, I spent too much time doing homework (although this recording was unusual due to essays), using social media, and in post production. On the contrary, I did not spend enough time photographing and doing yoga. Even with the continuous advancements in digital photography, the time spent behind a computer is still greater than the time spent behind a camera. Reading could be higher as about 80% of my time at work is spent doing so…ha… but I didn’t want to overlap times. I slept for 46.5 hours over 6 nights, which averages at 7.75 hours/night. I had predicted it would be more towards 6 to 7 hours/night.

I will keep these observations in mind as I attempt to be more productive in the future.

take a picture,

jack pope

One response to “TIME”

  1. sal says :

    hell yeah yoga all day

Leave a Reply

